Skip to content
June 3, 2009 / Nick

How do I find the right church? 10 ways not to choose a church, plus 1 way you should.


It’s not easy to find a church, there are so many to choose from.  Just search for “church” + “about us” on Google and you get 45,100,000 results!  So I feel pity for anyone looking for a place to worship via. the Internet. 

10 ways not to choose the right church…

  1. This is my parents church, so that’s where I will worship.
  2. The church is near my home, so it suits me.
  3. The church has a good sunday school, it’s good for the kids.
  4. The church can help me network with likeminded people, its good for my professional development.
  5. The man/woman I love and want to marry goes to this church, so I’ll join it too.
  6. This is the first church that ever knocked on my door, they helped me when I needed it.
  7. Everyone at this church seems to be prospering materially, it must be right for me.
  8. I can wear what I want at this church, I don’t like the idea of rules about dressing, drinking etc.
  9. The preacher doesn’t say anything offensive.  I like that the sermons here are “nice”.
  10. I fit in here.  There’s no need for me to change anything.  It is comfortable.

The right way to find a church.

1. This church preaches the Biblical plan of salvation.  They acknowledge that Jesus is the only way to God, because all men have sinned and come short of God’s glory (Rom. 3:23), we are all spiritually dead (Eph. 2:1).  Salvation is the result of God’s grace toward us (Eph. 2:8) and we recieve salvation through believing in the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ – this is called saving faith (Eph. 2:8, Rom 5:1).  To demonstrate our faith is genuine we will repent of our sins and be baptised in the name of Jesus Christ for the removal of our sins (Acts 2:38).  God then will give us the Holy Spirit to empower us to live a holy and godly life (Acts 2:4, Acts 2:38-39).  Without the Holy Ghost we are not born again (c.f. Rom. ch. 8). 

2. This church makes me feel uncomfortable.  I feel convicted of sin when I am here.  I am challenged to change, sometimes I don’t feel like I fit in, it is as if I need to ask God to help me.  This is called CONVICTION and it is proof that you are being called to salvation by God the Father.

3. This church reminds me of what I read in the book of Acts.  The book of Acts gives us the model for the true Church, we see miracles, healing, the move of the Holy Spirit i.e. speaking in tongues etc. 

4. The saints and pastor love each other.  This is how we will know we are among Jesus’ disciples (c.f. John ch. 17).

5. I prayed about this choice.  Prayer and asking God to confirm in some way we can recognise that the choice of church is the right one is essential.  When you pray and ask God to show you where He wants you to worship you will be suprised to find that He might recommend somewhere you did not even think about before.

6 Comments

  1. brewster / Jun 3 2009 11:45 pm

    Great post. This needs to be shared with pastors so they can identify the target.

  2. CDM / Jun 6 2009 9:31 pm

    Not all 10 of the wrong reasons are wrong, going to church where your parents or husband goes is a good reason. We are to honor our parents and our spouse….

  3. jesusblogger / Jun 6 2009 10:11 pm

    Interesting you should say that, I had a similar discussion with someone when I first wrote this post. It is right to honour parents and follow their godly example, but it is not right to deny the truth for parents sake. Jesus’ said His parents and brethren were those that did the will of God.

    For example, if your parents went to a Kngdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses should you go to that church?

    See my point?

  4. jesusblogger / Jun 6 2009 10:15 pm

    I should add that I am talking about adults primarily, not saying kids should openly rebel against parents etc. Although, if they believe and are convicted then they should discuss their conviction with parents.

  5. hiscrivener / Jun 13 2009 3:56 am

    Yeah, I agree. Great post indeed.

    1. Honor your parents, yes. Copy your parents mindlessly, not so much. You go where God leads YOU… not Mom and Dad once you’re of an age of accountability.

    2. It’s odd that everything you mention are humanistic reasons. If only people realized that God truly wants to guide us, take us and bless us beyond all human comprehension, what a wonderful world this would be.

    3. A reason not on the list, “This church is bigger, so it must be better.” How many children of God has jacked up that move?

    Peace,
    HiScrivener

  6. kc / Sep 18 2009 10:57 pm

    Hey i really need this on the break of breaking up with my boyfriend of 2 years

Comments are closed.

