Skip to content
December 11, 2008 / Nick

The Judas in us?


Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been studying the events of the Lord’s Last Supper with His disciples. What caught my attention was Judas.

Judas was the Lord’s most trusted disciple – he had responsibility for the bag (finance) during Jesus’ ministry. Moreover, at the Supper Judas was given the seat of the most honoured guest by Jesus*. Due to the way orientals reclined at the Seder meal Jesus would have had Judas over him – my God and yet Judas was the betrayer!

Judas was so close to Christ that Jesus could tell him to do what he did quickly and no one but John seated on Christ’s right side could hear. And yet he was the betrayer!

Judas was on the left hand side of Christ, John on the right. There is a message right there! Make sure you find yourself on the right side of Christ. Those on the left side will indeed be left at the rapture.

Judas was first partaker of the sop and yet again he was the betrayer. At the meal Jesus took the place of a slave and washed Judas feet knowing he had sold him out.

What I see is the grace of God manifested in Jesus Christ, He even loved Judas and fellowshipped with His betrayer. Deep.

This leads me to ask is there a Judas in me?

There are times when I have not been faithful to my Lord, and yet His gracious love toward me kept flowing. Now, I am not really a ‘Judas’ for I wouldn’t sell out Jesus and Satan certainly is not in my heart. Nevertheless, whenever I yeild to the temptations and snares of the devil there just went by a little Judas in me.

My prayer is that I would never become so close to Christ as to trample on His grace and be so hardened that I could not turn back to the Lord. That’s what made Peter different to Judas – Peter turned back to his Lord.

In fact, Peter denied while Judas betrayed. And Jesus, well Jesus just loved.

* see Eldershiem’s Life & Times of Jesus The Messiah for detail of seating arrangement at the supper.

2 Comments

  1. Anon / Dec 11 2008 8:59 pm

    Also…Judas is actually Yehudah i think in the hebrew. And i look at it like, Yehudah (the trive/his people) as a whole betrayed Messiah

    • jesusblogger / Dec 12 2008 12:55 am

      Interesting perspective. Although, it was the high priest and sadducees who were most at fault as colluding with Rome in killing Jesus.

Comments are closed.

