Skip to content
December 2, 2008 / Nick

Top 10 reasons for not speaking in tongues


As a follow up to my top 10 reasons to speak in tongues, here’s the top ten reasons some people don’t believe in speaking in tongues.

1. They believe the spiritual gifts have ceased, although there is no bible evidence for this.

2. They think that speaking in tongues are too undignified and therefore not for them.

3. They believe that speaking in tongues has no relevance for today.

4. They have never studied the book of Acts properly.

5. It is a tradition of their church which is blindly accepted.

6. They are fearful that those who speak in tongues do so under the influenece of the devil.

7. They had previously prayed for the baptism of the Holy Spirit and not recieved it.

8. Speaking in tongues has previously been abused within their church/organisation/denomination.

9. They do not understand how to allow the gifts to operate within their services and so shut them down.

10. I can’t actually think of a 10th reason… just speak allow God to move and speak as His Spirit leads you, just like in the book of Acts 2:4 “And they were all filled and began to speak in tongues as the Spirit gave them utterance”

Do you have anything to add/subtract or say about the list?

5 Comments

  1. questionentertainment / Dec 2 2008 4:45 am

    I have never heard or even heard of some one speaking in tongues like they do in the book of acts. Have you?

  2. jesusblogger / Dec 2 2008 3:00 pm

    Yes, I have. I myself speak in tongues like the book of Acts. I recieved the baptism of the Spirit at 11 years old shortly after being baptised in water in the name of Jesus.

  3. Kari / Dec 2 2008 6:38 pm

    Tongues is very real! I attend Lighthouse United Pentecostal Church and each person who received the holy spirit spoke in tongues as the initial evidence. I can help you find a church in you area where you can receive this truth if you like:):):)

  4. questionentertainment / Dec 4 2008 4:16 am

    I’m sorry, I was not at all challenging the gift of tongues as real or for today. I was just wondering if you have ever seen some one give a message to people of different nationalities and every person hears it in there own language. I have heard two stories that are similar, but I have never heard of that happening just like in Acts 2 and have never seen it. I am not putting limits on God or saying that it doesn’t happen. I just wondered if anyone has heard of it happening. You were referencing Acts 2, so I though I would ask.

  5. Pastor Michael J. Burns / Feb 21 2010 8:24 am

    These are some very significant thoughts you have shared regarding the Holy Spirit’s baptism and the initial evidence of speaking with Tongues. As for any additional reasons why people do not speak with tongues…how about…They have tried to make this experince intellectual when it is supernatural and therefore fail to receive?! I was also thinking that some do not speak in tongues because they reject it as the Holy Spirit’s initial evidence believing they have received all that the Holy Spirit has for them in the new birth. They do not understand the dual working of the Holy Spirit “Within” and “Upon” the believer. Every Christian has the Holy Spirit within them, but not every believer has experienced the Acts 1:8 “Upon” Experience!

Comments are closed.

