Skip to content
December 2, 2008 / Nick

10 reasons the Holy Ghost is not received.


Bozz asked for a blog to be written addressing reasons some Christians may not have yet received the infilling of the Holy Spirit (baptism of the Holy Ghost).

Here’s my list, by no means exhaustive, but I believe it covers the main hinderances to being filled with the Holy Spirit.

1. Seeking tongues and not the Spirit.

2. Misunderstanding of why and how the Spirit is given.

3. Fear.Reaching the point where the Spirit is telling you what to say, filling your mouth with words, and drawing back in fear.

4. Lack of fervetent prayer and worship, expecting the Holy Ghost just to fall but not conditioning the heart and soul to recieve.

5. Lack of a broken and contrite spirit which God said he wouldn’t despise. A realisation of our nothingness leads to recieving His fullness.

6. Unbelief – thinking it is never going to happen to me.

7. Predetermined ideas as to how God will fill you, God can move in any way he choses – it may be less or more dramatic than you think.

8. Distractions. Not focusing the mind on Jesus, often distractions are from people around in the prayer or tarrying meeting.

9. Self. The gift of God is not result of self effort, or a working up of self into a frenzy. It is about a dying, shrinking, reducing of self that God may be enlarged “I must decrease”.

10. Lack of consecration. Hunger and denial of self will lead to more prayer, more fasting, more seeking and being filled.

There are more, but those are my top ten. God bless all those seeking the Holy Ghost you will be filled. Don’t doubt, don’t fear. Be not discouraged, only believe. He will hear and answer your cry. Heaven waits to recieve you as a spirit filled new born soul into the fellowship of the blood bought ones!

7 Comments

  1. jamesjournal99 / Dec 3 2008 3:48 am

    Good list. I think most if not all of those 10 do ring true with me. I’ve been a church-goer for most of my life, yet often strayed due to my desire to find fulfillment on my own, not having the patience to wait on God -His time. Sometimes I’d find myself way off track, and then I’d put forth effort to live right, but never seemed to get it. One attempt at getting right with God came as I attended a Pentacostal church. The members there told me that I had not found victory because I did not have the infilling of the Holy Ghost. Long story short, I gave up after about a month of ‘trying’ to get the filling. Again the above list rang true in my approach. The one idea that I do not believe is listed above, is the possiblility that God never ‘chose’ me. I realize my state; my motives are wrong, I’m completely at odds with God and I fear He will have nothing to do with me. I can’t change myself, only God has the power to make me a new creation, so perhaps I’m just not one of the chosen.
    I really don’t know.

  2. Anonymous / Dec 8 2008 10:29 am

    What a lot of rubbish!

    • jesusblogger / Dec 8 2008 2:02 pm

      It is a shame you feel that way.

  3. jesusblogger / Dec 8 2008 2:08 pm

    @ James I meant to get back to you sooner to say don’t despair, you are chosen, the gift is to all men and women.

  4. jamesjournal99 / Dec 9 2008 3:06 am

    My statement above was indeed heavy on the negative, but I don’t always feel that way, but unfortunately I sometime do and that’s a bit scary! I’ve always struggled with doubting my salvation, but it’s mainly because I have had a lot of failure in life. These failures mainly from poor decision making. Yet despite my foolishness, I feel as though He has always been with me. Most recently, I have been experiencing a lot of victory, as if He is finally answering my BIGGEST prayer “Lord, please help me to change!”
    Yes, I agree with you when you say that ‘the gift is to all men and women’.

  5. Anonymous / Dec 13 2008 7:39 pm

    You need too Know how JESUS is Brother and BELIEVE

  6. gmcastil / Jan 22 2009 8:25 am

    I guess I’m a little confused. Are you arguing that there are those that have put their faith in Christ but have not been indwelt with the Spirit? It seems like you’re equating the ‘filling’ role of the Spirit with the ‘indwelling’ role. I’m curious as to what textual reason do you have for this.

    Additionally, upon reading this list again, it almost looks like you’re saying that by eliminating those 10 things in your list, a person can be certain they have eternal life. Is this accurate?

Comments are closed.

