Skip to content
May 5, 2008 / Nick

“Follow Me”: faith is scary, uncomfortable, risky, but totally rewarding.


An oft unexplored miracle in scripture is Jesus’ calling of the twelve.  I’m amazed that the men left all to follow Jesus based on his call: “follow me”.

“Follow me” makes sense. But it is what is missing from the call that makes the obedience of the disciples a miracle (in my opinion).   Unlike  a secular employer Jesus didn’t make any promises.  There was no offer of a minimum wage, bonus scheme, annual leave, death in service benefit and so on.  There was just a simple two worded contract of “follow me”.

To follow is a walk of faith.

Take Levi (aka. Matthew) for example, he was a tax collector employed by the Roman Governor, his job involved handling what would today be hundreds of thousands of pounds/dollars.  Yet, Jesus called him while he was on the job, receiving and watching over tax payments.   Jesus expected Levi to leave what he was doing and follow Him, and Levi did exactly that.

Such a walk of faith scares me.

That level of faith scares me.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean I’d never follow Jesus, but it is the kind of call that fills me with heart pounding, nerve racking adrenaline.  It is such a BIG challenge.  Its a, ‘God only you can keep me through this’ kind of challenge, totally outside of my Christian comfort zone.

I think the scripture that best sums it up is Col. 3:1-2 “If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above… setting your mind on things on heaven, not on earth” (paraphrased).

True discipleship of Jesus Christ is about being prepared to turn our backs on everything we hold dear in pursuit of His presence.  It calls for a total rejection of worldly ambitions, dreams, goals and so on.  The ‘follow me’ of Jesus Christ asks us not just to put Him before our career, He is asking us to walk away from our career to follow Him (if necessary). Christianity is so much more than just church attendance, it is a radical challenge to change the way we live and think.  If we are taking our faith seriously we should be a little scared about taking the next step in God, that is good because it means we are moving out of our comfort zones to “follow Him”.

7 Comments

  1. escapedmentalpatient / May 5 2008 12:44 pm

    what a load of garbage! The guy was obviously a complete idiot?

    He gave up his life to follow superstition! what a complete dunce!

  2. jesusblogger / May 5 2008 1:12 pm

    “He gave up his life” – how can being a tax collector compare with spending 3 years with Jesus, being one of the 12 Apostles, being inspired to write one of the Gospel accounts. The bible said that ‘the fool’ has said in his heart their is no God. By God’s definition that’d make you an idiot, and I’d have to agree.

  3. escapedmentalpatient / May 6 2008 6:16 am

    Wasting 3 years following bronze age superstition as written by tent dwelling idiots that where totally ravaged by their ignorance of the world and the universe at large.

    I would call that a complete waste of time.

    And quoting said scripture at me only serves to illustrate that you to are such a superstitious moron.

  4. jesusblogger / May 6 2008 10:49 am

    I have gladly surrendered my life to Jesus, and I am encouraging everyone I know to do the same. Even you can serve Him. He is a forgiving and a loving God. One day you will come face to face with Him and bow before His Majesty.

  5. escapedmentalpatient / May 6 2008 10:55 am

    Why would i want to surrender or serve an imaginary sky daddy?

    I might as well worship santa claus, at leas his message is benign.

    Its sad to see how you are wasting your life and time on metaphysical meaningless bull.

  6. richardh. / Sep 17 2009 5:21 am

    to who that does not know the truth i do not judge or think different about, but those who know him are truely bleesed.and if you feel that its time for you to know the truth and that feel god pulling at your heart to do what is just,i would gladly talk to your @ richard20@live>com
    godbess us all.

Trackbacks

  1. C4 Dispatches ‘In God’s Name’: patronising, demonising, annoying. « The Jesus Blog

Comments are closed.

