Skip to content
February 6, 2008 / Nick

Lessons from the labour ward…


First off, I must apologise for not posting for ages!  My wife has recently given birth to our first child, she’s a beauty. Seeing a new life come into the world has taught me so much, especially about the process of being born again. Here’s some of the things that have dropped into my spirit over the last 8 weeks…

  1. Birth can’t take place until a woman is 10cm dilated, if her body doesn’t open the baby can’t come out.  What struck me was the need to open myself up to God in order to allow Him to work in my life.  To step out and allow God to fill us with His Spirit takes an open spirit.
  2. The hardest part of giving birth is getting the head out of the way. Likewise, we have to get past our intellect and move by faith in order to receive the Spirit of Christ into our lives.
  3. The Labour Room is a place dignity is lost.  In intercession, seeking and labouring in prayer we need to set aside our dignity, strip off our pride and get down to the undignified job of birthing souls into the kingdom, delivering ourself and allowing God to bring a miracle into our hands.
  4. Birth needs no crowd, all you need is the midwife and your partner (for what use they can be!), it just takes a skilled midwife.  Likewise, how often are have I seen souls seeking the infilling of the Spirit crowded by many altar workers, ministers and well wishers… the truth is all it takes is one with a midwife spirit and THE FATHER to birth the Spirit in a new believer.
  5. Its normal for a new born baby to CRY!!!  New born babies let out a cry, Acts 2:4 “They began to speak as the Spirit gave them utterance” – there is no silent Holy Ghost, when He comes He testifies of Christ! That’s why when a new soul gets the Holy Ghost they begin to say: “thank you Jesus!”… God’s praise just can’t be contained. Our new cry comes when we speak in tongues.

There’s so much more I want to share… right now my little girl’s favourite scripture is Ps. 27 “one thing have I desired that will I SUCK after!!”

2 Comments

  1. lezell / Feb 8 2008 4:06 am

    Congratulations on the birth of your little girl.. that is so wonderful, and I am so happy for you and your wife. This was a wonderful word.. most definitely a revelation from the Lord. The Lord will teach us something through every experience in life if we will listen. Thanks for listening… and sharing what you heard. Blessing in Christ. LEzell

  2. Julie / Feb 20 2008 2:54 am

    Beautiful! I love this post because I have lived every part of it both spiritually and physically. It is uncomfortable to go from one stage to other, but the minute we stop getting uncomfortable we stop growing, we stop being fruitful, we stop living. May the Lord bless you, your wife and your daughter every day.

Comments are closed.

