Skip to content
November 8, 2007 / Nick

What Calvary meant to a crack dealer.


I never realised how powerful the word Calvary was until the day I invited an ex-crack dealer to church. He’d just come out of prision and I was trying to help him go straight. I invited him along to one of our services, he was really worried about how he’d be recieved, not having the right clothes and so on. Thankfully, and I say thankfully because I was worrying too, the brethren recieved him with grace and love.

As he sat through the message he seemed intrigued by what was being said by the preacher. On the way home he began to repeat a single word to himself: ‘Calvary’. Calvary “wow, that’s a powerful word man… yeah, Calvary I understand what Jesus went through”.

As someone who’d been to prision he could relate to Calvary in a way that I would never understand. He began to explain to me how he understood what Jesus must have felt to be so popular and then be rejected by all his friends. Its the same with drug dealing, one minute you are Mr Big, next–when the money has gone–you’re nobody. He understood Christ’s sufferings, his trials and his agony of rejection. I was fascinated with the impact of the word Calvary.

I never did realise how powerful Calvary was until that day.

5 Comments

  1. michelle / Nov 8 2007 9:33 pm

    “‘Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus……” We will never know how the next person gets to know Him unless we give our own tesimonies. By doing so, it enriches the walk you have embarked upon; it makes you realised just how blessed you really are. I will continue to prayer for this young man and his family that one day soon, he and they will know Him for themselves.

  2. Ha Tikvah / Nov 8 2007 11:23 pm

    Awesome story of how God can move in the hearts and minds of those society would deem unreachable perhaps. Sad though that so many like him probably do feel they would be unwelcome in many of today’s churches and ironically I would say that some of the best churches in the sense of teaching and truth etc, might be the toughest to walk into because they tend to be rather heavily formal e.g. some Baptist churches – certainly here where I live in N. Ireland, even I’d be quite nervous to do so partly because I know as a woman I wouldn’t be allowed to enter let alone stay for too long without a head covering – good in principle, but not always right to enforce in practice IMHO. Blessings, TKR 🙂

  3. gebs / Nov 9 2007 1:27 am

    So True

  4. John / Nov 17 2007 12:19 am

    I understand what everyone is getting at this. However, I for some reason came away with thinking about “…how he’d be recieved, not having the right clothes and so on.” I and I know many others who feel uncomfortable going to church because of the “codes” or “rules” that don’t even matter. I always hated the religious “rules” associated with church, that seemed so far from God. I think that keeps a lot of people away.

  5. jesusblogger / Nov 17 2007 9:27 am

    Point noted John. On the flip side the idea of wearing your ‘Sunday Best’ is also an act of devotion, it is just when we look down upon what others wear in relation to ourselves. We all need to learn to judge people from the heart and not the appearance, while still giving God our best when we enter into His House.

Comments are closed.

